top of page


Short Bio

Julienne van Loon is the prizewinning author of three novels and one non-fiction book, and a leading member of the Writing and Publishing program at RMIT University in Melbourne.


The Thinking Woman, New South, 2019 

Harmless, Fremantle Press, 2013 

Beneath the Bloodwood Tree, Allen & Unwin, 2008 

Road Story, Allen & Unwin, 2005 

Selected Shorter Works


Award-winning fiction published in Griffith Review 66: The Light Ascending, 2019.


Originally given as a public lecture as part of RMIT's Present Tense series in Melbourne, this developed essay was published in The Sydney Review of Books in 2017.

Short story

This short story, adapted from one of the Jataka Tales in the Theravada Buddhist canon, was published in the inaugural edition of The Monthly in 2005.

Literary Awards


Victorian Premier's Literary Awards for Non Fiction

Highly commended for 'The Thinking Woman'


Griffith Review Novella Project VII

Winner for 'Instructions for a Steep Decline'


Commonwealth Writers' Prize Best First Book (SE Asia & South Pacific)

Shortlisted for 'Road Story'


West Australian Premier's Book Award for Fiction

Shortlisted for 'Road Story'


The Australian/Vogel's Literary Award

Winner for 'Road Story'

Selected Fellowships



Appointed Honorary Fellow in Writing, University of Iowa, 2017.

Appointed Vice Chancellor's Senior Research Fellow, RMIT University, 2015-2019

bottom of page